UNESCO Global Geopark

About Ciletuh-Palabuhanratu



The Ciletuh-Palabuhanratu Geopark has an area of 126,100 hectares or 1,261 km2. Covering 74 villages, in 8 sub-districts namely Ciracap, Surade, Ciemas, Waluran, Simpenan, Palabuhanratu, Cikakak, and Cisolok Districts. Ciletuh Geopark was designated as a National Geopark by the Indonesian National Geopark Committee (KNGI) together with the Indonesian National Committee for UNESCO (KNIU) on 22 December 2015. Geopark expansion and name change became Ciletuh-Palabuhanratu inaugurated by the same committee on 21 June 2016 and designated as a UNESCO Global Geopark on 17 April 2018 with the geopark theme "Subduction Fossil, Plato Jampang, Magmatic Path Shift".

1. Diversity in the Ciletuh-Palabuhanratu Geopark
The diversity in the Ciletuh-Palabuhanratu Geopark consists of geological, biological and cultural diversity. Geological diversity consists of subduction fossils, the Jampang plateau, and shifting magmatic pathways. Biodiversity is found in the Cikongga Wildlife Reserve area, Cibanteng Nature Reserve, Turtle conservation and Halimun Salak National Park area. The cultural diversity found in this area starts from the megalithic era to the modern era, including megalithic sites in Cengkuk, Kasepuhan Banten Kidul and historical heritage buildings that are still preserved today. In addition there is also a diversity of intangible cultures such as dances, songs and stories. Geological diversity in the Ciletuh-Palabuhanratu Geopark area is largely related to Subduction Fossils, Jampang Plateau, Magmatic Path Shift. Subducted fossil rocks are found in the Ciletuh area which are raised to the surface due to a complex tectonic process. These rocks consist of metamorphic rocks and oceanic crust (ophiolites) exposed to the surface. The Jampang plateau is a plateau that stretches from the South and is bounded by an amphitheater-shaped morphology which has a waterfall along its walls forming a stunning area. We can see the shift in the magmatic path from old volcanic deposits such as Jampang volcanic rock and solid Sukawayana column to active magmatism activity such as the Cisolok geyser. Biodiversity consists of the diversity of flora and fauna. There are several rare animal species such as leopards, Javan gibbons and eagles. The diversity of marine life such as green turtles. There are also rare plants such as the Rafflesia Padma and the Kepuh tree. Cultural diversity consists of the diversity of tangible and intangible cultures. Tangible cultural diversity is in the form of historical relics such as the Cengkuk Monument site, bunkers from the colonial era, and ocean hotels. The diversity of intangible cultures found in the Ciletuh-Palabuhanratu geopark is very much ranging from dances such as the jipeng dance, to folk tales such as the story of the Queen of the South Sea. In addition, there are also traditional villages that still adhere to their ancestral culture such as Kasepuhan Sirnaresmi, Ciptagelar and Ciptamulya.
2. Activities at Ciletuh-Palabuhanratu Geopark
Activities in the Ciletuh-Palabuhanratu Geopark are focused on education, conservation and sustainable development activities. Educational activities are carried out from the elementary level to university and even to the professional level. Conservation activities are carried out by the community as well as by visitors such as tree planting, conservation of rare plants such as rafflesia padma, and turtle conservation to preserve nature. Sustainable development activities are carried out through tourism, community development and existing facilities in the Geopark area. There are various tourism attractions that can be done in the Geopark area. Geotourism activities can be in the form of tracking, hiking and boating. Other activities include surfing, cycling, paragliding, rafting, tubing, rock climbing and offroad. Apart from these activities, visitors can also experience community life in homestays and tourist villages.
3. Diversity distribution
The diversity that exists in the Ciletuh-Palabuhanratu Geopark Area is spread over 8 Districts starting from Cisolok in the North to Ciracap in the South. This diversity includes geological, biological and cultural diversity.